Customer reviews for Women's The 689

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Famous Footwear.

Women's The 689

Enjoy a walk on the gravel path in the 689 outdoor walking sneakers from New Balance.
  • Split suede and mesh upper in an outdoor walking
  • Lace-up front, padded tongue and collar
  • Textile lining, cushioning insole with Abzorb(R) technology
  • Injected Molded EVA midsole
  • NDurance aggressive lugged traction outsole
Overall Rating:
4.846 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's The 689
Review 1 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
From: Peoa, Ut
Gender: Female
Age: 45-54
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Product fits awesome. They are true to size and are very comfortable. I have a medium width foot that is hard to fit with shoes because my feet are also short, and these shoes fit wonderfully."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Durable, Shock absorbing, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The most comfortable shoe I've ever worn

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
From: Binghamton , NY
Gender: Female
Age: 35-44
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"This shoe that I purchased is the best shoe I've ever bought. It fit perfect is totally comfortable and I'm not slipping all over the place with the snow and ice. I'm actually thinking of getting another pair to have on hand when these wear out."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Breathable, Durable, love the color
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great comfortable walking shoe

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
From: Chicago, IL
Gender: Female
Age: 55-64
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I put these on for my hour long daily walk the day after I got them and they were totally comfortable with great support. The color is brown and turquoise, which I like. Very lightweight with nice arch support."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Durable, Shock absorbing, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love New Balance

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Wouldn't ever stop buying New Balances!"
Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Balance Tennis Rock

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"My feet are happy wearing these tennis shoes for long hours in stressful conditions.I have had surgery twice on one foot and I therefore need good shoes. New Balance is my favorite brand!"
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable, Comfortable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Balance 689

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"These shoes are shock absorbed on my feet. I have a hard time finding shoes to fit me just right on the heels, but these shoes are very comfortable to walk in."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Color is as pictured

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"These have excellent cushion, but it's a bit on the firm side. It's a sturdy shoe, not real flexible, but I'm glad I purchased them. They are exactly as pictured."
Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Durable
Cons: stiff
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good shoe

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Very good shoe; I found it a bit loose in the heel. Excellent support for every day and my workouts."
Pros: Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"These shoes are very comfortable and serve their purpose. I love the brown and blue trim too!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

i get compliments.

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Gender: Female
Age: 25-34
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
1/2 Size Too Big
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"these are not my favorite style but i get compliments all the time when i where these. i bought them because i wanted brown new balances for work and the selection was slim. i like them but my foot slides a little as they seem to run slightly big and they are not as bouncy as my favorite new balance sneakers."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Shock absorbing, Durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Women's WE 520 BP1
4.6 out of 5(52)
 
 
 
Women's D'Lite Slip Resistant
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
From: Lincoln me
Gender: Female
Age: 35-44
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I like these sneakers. New Balance is the best for my high arches.I always take 1/2 size bigger than my regular shoes"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tread.

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
From: New Mexico
Gender: Female
Age: 55-64
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"This shoe is perfect. This is the best New Balance I have ever gotten. Light weight, comfortable and the tread is great. I wore them on a day we had an unexpected light snow and I didn't slip once! I recommend this shoe and plan to buy another pair."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's The 689
This review is fromWomen's The 689.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice looking, comfortable, and warm.

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
From: Alsip, IL
Gender: Female
Age: 45-54
Fitness Needs/Level: Pretty minimal
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Great winter shoe since it's suede it's warmer than most athletic shoes. I love the dark brown color which isn't easy to find."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.