Customer reviews for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Famous Footwear.

Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School

The 990 sneakers from New Balance will keep them on the go all day long.
  • Suede and mesh upper in a running sneaker style with a round toe
  • Lace-up front, padded tongue and collar
  • Reflective details for high visibility
  • Textile lining, cushioning Abzorb(R) foam insole
  • Injection molded EVA midsole
  • Rubber traction outsole
Overall Rating:
4.842 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
Review 1 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"New balance is the only sneakers I can find that fit my sons extra wide feet. Love them"
Pros: Lightweight, Durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
From: Baltimore, MD
Gender: Female
Age: 55-64
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Fit well, look good, boys say confortable and really like. recommend"
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Durable, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I bought this shoe for my son who has wide feet. He loved the fit as soon as he tried them on and I didn't even have to listen to him complain."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely good shoes, but...

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
From: United States
Gender: Female
Age: 55-64
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
Slightly Wide
Too wide
"We've had great difficulty fitting a 9 yr old. The length its perfect but they are a little too wide around the heels. Maybe you can recommend a different style that's not a wide around the heel but a little wider at the little toe???"
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Durable, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The child loves them, what more can I ask?

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"My kid isn't flashy, so all the bright colors are too much. It's been difficult to find anything he'd wear. He's got a wide foot, so New Balance is the way to go - they're all we ever buy, though for fashion's sake he'll wear Vans or Converse from time to time. He keeps wandering in these saying "I'm so glad I made this choice". So - thumbs up."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and Nice looking

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"These shoes are very comfortable. The color goes with everything. New Balance are the only shoes that I can find that fit my son''s wide feet."
Pros: Good traction, Durable, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
From: Sealy, Tx
Gender: Female
Age: 35-44
Fitness Needs/Level: Pretty minimal
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"My son has very wide feet and low arch and je absolutely loves these shoes, theu give him the support he needs and the extra width keeps him comfortable."
Pros: Good traction, Cushioning
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 24, 2013
Customer avatar
From: Utah
Gender: Female
Age: 35-44
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I am so glad to find extra wide width. My son has had to wear bigger shoes because of his wide feet. Now he can wear the right size shoe thanks to extra wide shoes. Keep making new styles. These shoes are great. Thanks"
Pros: Durable, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great X-tra wide shoe

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"This is a great x-tra wide shoe. Because it has heavier canvas around the toe area, it is wearing better than ones with mesh only. It should last longer."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"It's very hard to find stylish sneakers in wide width for my teenage son who has CP and wears braces on his legs. I needed something really durable that will hold up to the hard plastic braces coming in and out of the sneakers several times a day. These seem to be holding up very well, and they look good too!"
Pros: Durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Described

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
From: Brownsville, TX
Gender: Female
Age: 35-44
Fitness Needs/Level: Pretty minimal
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"My son has very wide feet and find it difficult to find him extra wide, it was great to find a great style and comfortable shoe he really liked. Highly recommend these."
Pros: Durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I ordered these for myself I have the blue ones that I ordered from DSW they are so comfortable I am going to order the black ones. Great with everything"
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Fit

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"My son really likes these shoes and they are great for his feet. Usually, we purchase leather sneaks, but so far (3 weeks) these shoes are holding up nicely."
Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoes

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"My Nephew Loves Them!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes for a kid with wide feet!

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I love these sneakers for my son! The sneakers are perfect for my son's wide feet."
Pros: Good traction, Durable, Stylish
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

satisfied

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
From: NC
Gender: Female
Age: 18-24
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I was satisfied with my purchases and with the timing of the shipping."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A perfect shoe for an active boy!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Gender: Female
Age: 45-54
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"My son is a football freak, a soccer freak and need I say more - he tears through shoes. Literally, in a couple weeks a shoe has had trouble holding up to his activity. It always had me trying to buy cheap for this one. Well we are now two weeks in and there is not a shift in structure of the shoe. Because the fit is so nice - his ankles aren't giving him trouble and are finally supported well. I highly recommend this shoe."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
This review is fromKids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
From: Ravenna, Oh
Gender: Female
Age: 55-64
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think the look all comes down to the shoes!
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I purchased these shoes for my grandson. He loves them!! At 8 years old, he is just now starting to get picky about what he wears, but, not about these! They are great!"
Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Durable, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Kids' The 990 Running Shoe Grade School
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
3 / 5
Size Too Big
Too narrow
3 / 5
Too wide