Customer reviews for Men's 609

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Famous Footwear.

Men's 609

The 609 training shoes by New Balance give you superior support for cross-training.

  • Leather or suede upper in an athletic training style
  • Lace-up front, padded tongue and collar
  • Contrasting logo detail
  • Pull tab at heel for easy on/off
  • Textile lining, cushioning insole
  • Lightweight ABZORB® midsole
  • Rubber traction outsole
  • Available in Wide
Overall Rating:
4.728 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 103 reviews
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
101 of 103(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's 609
Review 1 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excell:ent

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Gender: Male
Age: 65-74
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise all the time
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"This is my 4th pair of these sneakers. Needless to say, they are great jn every way....quality, fit, support,style and value."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable shoe

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
From: Winchester Virginia
Gender: Male
Age: 45-54
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"This shoe was recommended by a podiatrist and is all my husband wears. So although he loves the shoe, it would be nice if it was available in a larger variety of colors. He hates the brown. I hate the white and they grey is no longer available. I hate him not having a variety to choose from. Love the shoe though"
Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helps my husband's back

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"This is the third pair of these I have bought for my husband. He has a bad back and swears that these help him in that his back does not go out."
Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Balance is a great sneaker

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Customer avatar
From: St. Augustine, Florida
Gender: Male
Age: 65-74
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"This shoe is one of a few that is offered in men's larger sizes. It's light weight and can be worn with jeans or casual slacks. It's durable and comfortable to wear. My husband's favorite every day shoe."
Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Durable, Breathable, can be worn with jeans or casual slacks
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoes

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
From: Southeast MI
Gender: Male
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Comfortable from the start!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Holes in My Shoes

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
User submitted photo
"I purchased these sneakers last year, I thought they looked great and were very comfortable. However within one year the suede material at my large toes began to rip.
The inner sneaker and soles are practically like new. I'ts the first time I'm forced to replace my sneakers within a year due to material failure. As I said the soles are wearing terrific, unfortunately I'm not willing to walk around with my toes popping through.
Very disappointed New Balance.
"
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning
Cons: suede material very weak and tore at large toe
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great with jeans

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"These shoes have the great New Balance comfort and support, but look a bit better with jeans than regular "tennis" shoes - and are more comfortable than boots or loafers."
Pros: Shock absorbing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
From: Sacramento, CA
Gender: Male
Age: 55-64
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"609's are the only shoe I wear."
Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes, Great price

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
From: Plymouth, Ma
Gender: Male
Age: 55-64
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Very few shoes fit me from start and this sneakers did fit like I have been wearing them for a month instead of just trying them on. Great fit and great support. I'm an avid walker and usually buy more expensive shoes for walking but theses are going to be the ones from now on."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"These shoes are super comfortable for all day wearing"
Pros: Cushioning, Shock absorbing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Teenage son loves these.

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Gender: Female
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"He wears through them at a moderates pace. He likes them for wearing with jeans. Also has the grey suede version.."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Gender: Female
Age: 55-64
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"My husband wears only 609's for work, where he is on his feet all day and it's great that he can get them in different colors. He loves these for fall and winter. He has a lot of foot problems and a high arch and this model is consistently comfortable for him. He also wears them outside of work, so we buy multiple pairs so he can allow one pair to "breath" and dry out after work. This is a great shoe."
Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Durable, Comfortable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe for the price!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer avatar
From: scotland. ct
Gender: Female
Age: 35-44
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
Shoe expertise: I think the look all comes down to the shoes!
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"These sneakers are so comfortable. My husband loves them. He is on his feet 8 hours a day on cement floors. These are the first shoes that don't hurt his feet at all. We just bought 2 more pairs . Hope new balance won't ever discontinue these great sneakers!"
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
From: Wyoming
Gender: Male
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Love the suede, great colors, and a perfect fit. Couldn't ask for a better shoe."
Pros: Lightweight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not my first pair and won't be the last

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Gender: Male
Age: 25-34
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I love these shoes. They are always comfortable and I never have a problem with them fitting properly."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is nicely made

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Nice shoe. Comfortable and stylish. Fits well."
Pros: Cushioning
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

609 Shoes

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I have always wore the women's 609 shoes for many years, decided it was time my husband tried them. He loves them, fits well on his foot, he wears a wide shoe. We will be buying more."
Pros: Cushioning, Shock absorbing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable Shoes For Everyday Wear

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer avatar
From: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Age: 55-64
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
1/2 Size Too Big
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I have always had the best luck with New Balance and it continues with the 609. I purchased 2 pair to be worn to work until broken in and then they become my walking shoes. They are comfortable and for the price exactly what I need.
In about 6 months I will purchase 2 more pair.
"
Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Durable
Cons: wish they were a bit lighter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
From: waterbury CT
Gender: Male
Age: 55-64
Fitness Needs/Level: Pretty minimal
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Great shoe very comfortable to walk all day in !!"
Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's 609
This review is fromMen's 609.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoes

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"These shoes are probably the most comfortable shoes I've owned."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>