Customer reviews for Men's M580SB2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Famous Footwear.

Men's M580SB2

Get your running started in the New Balance The 580 athletic shoes.

  • Mesh and synthetic upper in an athletic running style
  • Overlay design provides better support
  • Lace up front with padded tongue and collar
  • Textile lining with cushioned insole
  • ABZORB® midfoot cushion to absorb shock
  • Non-marking Ndurance® durable rubber outsole
Overall Rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
15 of 18(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's M580SB2
Review 1 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very comfortable!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Great shoes."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
From: Ojai, CA
Gender: Female
Age: 35-44
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise all the time
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"This is a great running shoe for a good price. Love them."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good basic running shoe

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Gender: Female
Age: 35-44
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think the look all comes down to the shoes!
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
Slightly Narrow
Too wide
"These are a good deal. Not too flashy, but well made. The last pair lasted my son a year!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deals at Famous footwear

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer avatar
From: Gettysburg PA
Gender: Male
Age: 45-54
Fitness Needs/Level: Pretty minimal
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Great Sneakers"
Pros: Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice & Light

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer avatar
From: Stuart, FL
Gender: Male
Age: 65-74
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Light weight running shoe. Feels good. Flexible with cooling web that breaths."
Pros: Lightweight, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not a good sneaker

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer avatar
From: Denville Nj
Gender: Male
Age: 45-54
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
Support 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
1/2 Size Too Small
Size Too Big
Too narrow
Too Narrow
Too wide
"these sneakers were not true to size. I ordered a mens 8 1/2 4E and they were so narrow I had to return them. Store personnel helped me find a pair in a diffrent style I had before and they were shipped to me and are great. Don't know what happened to the the ones above but the look wasn't good and the fit was terrible."
Pros: no pros with this shoe
Cons: width not true to size
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great sneakers!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I bought these for my boyfriend for his birthday and they were not only true to size but he said the most comfortable sneaker he's worn in a long time and he usually wears Asics."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these shoes

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"I bought these shoes because I liked the style of them and it turns out that I love these shoes. I'm a woman with both long feet and really wide feet so I have always bought male shoes because they come wide enough. These New Balance shoes are no different then the other ones I have purchased over the years. They are a lot lighter then other shoes I have. I would buy more shoes from this specific New Balance shoe line."
Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Fit

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
From: Sacramento, CA
Gender: Female
Age: 55-64
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Finally able to find a shoe that fits my husband's wide feet. He loved them and said no break in period was needed!!"
Pros: Lightweight, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wear and Tear After Two Weeks

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
From: San Diego CA
Gender: Male
Age: 55-64
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Shoes feel very comfortable, but the soles are already wearing down. I run 10 miles a session several times a week. These shoes may only last a few weeks more at this rate."
Pros: Shock absorbing
Cons: not durable
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Support 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
Too Narrow
Too wide
"No good for wide feet, maybe too tight for anyone"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable shoes, good price!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Gender: Male
Age: 35-44
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Shoes are as advertised. I always buy New Balance for their support and comfort."
Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

He likes them!

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
From: Rochester, NY
Gender: Female
Age: 45-54
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"My husband won't shop. I said you have to at least go with me to try on running shoes. He wouldn't. So I ordered these shoes in his size. And they fit and he likes them."
Pros: Lightweight, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

roomy and light

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Gender: Male
Age: 35-44
Fitness Needs/Level: Pretty minimal
Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"Shoes is very comfortable. Good width, and very light. Great if you are on you feet all day. Highly recommended"
Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's M580SB2
This review is fromMen's M580SB2.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Shoes!

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer avatar
From: Lakewood, WA
Gender: Male
Age: 18-24
Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
Support 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
True to Size
Size Too Big
Too narrow
True to Width
Too wide
"These shoes will knock your socks off! They are comfortable and are sturdy shoes. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a quality shoe that lasts."
Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Men's M580SB2
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Support 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3.3 / 5
3.3 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Size Too Small
3 / 5
Size Too Big
Too narrow
3 / 5
Too wide