Customer reviews for Women's 409

Women's 409

These attractive WX 409 cross trainers from New Balance will get you where you need to be, so lace up and get moving!

  • Leather upper, lace-up front
  • Mesh lining, cushioned EVA insole
  • Flexible Strobel® construction, rubber outsole
  • Available in medium and wide width sizes
  • Overall Rating:
    4.478 / 5
    4.5
     / 
    5
    (182 reviews) 156
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating breakdown 182 reviews
    5 Stars
    113
    4 Stars
    53
    3 Stars
    9
    2 Stars
    4
    1 Star
    3
    171 of 182(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
    Customer reviews for Women's 409
    Review 1 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    PostedApril 8, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Kenmore, NY
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I ordered this sneaker online and was happily surprised that they fit true to size. It's more comfortable for me to order online since i have a disability and it's hard for me to try shoes on in a store. Happy Customer."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 2 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    works for me

    PostedApril 4, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: norman, ok
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I use this shoe for aerobic exercise. it supports my foot well"
    Pros: Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 3 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Love them

    PostedApril 3, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "First, I only shop sales and clearances. So, I bought these on sale. Very comfortable, snug on feet, true to size. Very happy."
    Pros: Good traction, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Cons: Not Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 4 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Comfortable Shoe, Great Price!

    PostedApril 2, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Colorado
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I really enjoy these new Balance shoes for the true to size toe box (no more squished toes)! Durable and comfortable, too."
    Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 5 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    2 / 5
    2 / 5

    size runs small

    PostedMarch 31, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Capitol area NY
    Gender: Female
    Age: 65-74
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1 Size Too Small
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "when I put them on, they felt like they would be comfortable if they were true to size. I had to return them as they really squished my toes"
    No, I do not recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 6 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    new balance 409

    PostedMarch 28, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Ballston Spa NY
    Gender: Female
    Age: 35-44
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I don't really think about my shoes
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I love these shoes. I am a repeat buyer and they last along time if taken care of."
    Pros: Cushioning, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 7 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great shoes to have on hand

    PostedMarch 27, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Arizona
    Gender: Female
    Age: 65-74
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    Slightly Narrow
    Too wide
    "The 409's are a proven style. I purchase "W" because Regular is too narrow and "W" is just a bit wider than shoes in other brands, but not much. They are comfortable and good to wear to a large variety of events and for travelling. The color and style is subtle."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 8 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5

    Returned item

    PostedMarch 27, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: PA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Performance 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Style 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I returned this item due to the shoe laces. They were extremely long and took away from the shoe in general. Got the 405's instead."
    Cons: bad shoelaces
    No, I do not recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 9 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Love this shoe

    PostedMarch 21, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "These are the most comfortable shoes. I don't even have to break them in.....comfortable right out of the box. Love this shoe."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 10 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    PostedMarch 18, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: brookfield, ct
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I absolutely love these sneakers. They fit perfectly. I would purchase them again when I need new sneakers"
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 11 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Comfortable & true to size

    PostedMarch 12, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Iowa
    Gender: Female
    Age: 35-44
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I took a chance and ordered these online, my usual size 6 1/2. Luckily they fit true to size. I would have liked slightly higher arch support - but I have extremely high arches and often have this problem, so I think others would find the arch support to be fine. Other than that I find them very comfortable. I'm very happy with the shoes and would purchase this brand again."
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Read comment (1)
    Comments (1)
    Customer avatar
    By BHinCO
    from Colorado
     
    Please wait while more information about BHinCO is loaded.
    Additional information about BHinCO could not be loaded.
    High Arch
    ,
    Posted March 27, 2014
    "I also have a high arch, I just take out the insert that comes in the shoe, then add my "Superfeet" green insert. I no longer have to worry about the insert in my shoes not working with my feet."
    0points
    0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
    Comments (1)
    Read comment (1)
    Review 12 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5

    After i got pair that wasnt used they were great

    PostedMarch 10, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Performance 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Love these sneakers! first pair that were sent someone used them :(
    next pair after i called where great!
    "
    Pros: Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 13 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    this product is awesome

    PostedMarch 10, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Chandler, Arizona
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "These shoes work good for me, especially when i am on my feet all the time. I would definitely buy this brand again."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 14 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    PostedMarch 4, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Florida
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise all the time
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Great shoes for exercising on wood floors as I am able to turn my feet easily."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 15 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Good product

    PostedFebruary 24, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Carthage, Mo
    Gender: Female
    Age: 65-74
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "This shoe fits great and does not ride up and down when you walk"
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 16 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    PostedFebruary 17, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    Slightly Narrow
    Too wide
    "like the shoe, I have a thinner heel and that fit just right. front was on the tight side, need to get it in the wider width."
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 17 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Excellent and comfortable shoe

    PostedFebruary 12, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I have purchased this same style shoe in the past and I purchased another pair. The fit, comfort, and durability is great. I have a foot condtion and these were recommended to me and it has been the best shoe I have ever found that I can stand at work all day and my bad foot not hurt. I added a heel support just for a little extra cushioning. I highly recommend New Balance 409."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Durable, Breathable, good arch
    No, I do not recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 18 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Comfortable sport shoe

    PostedFebruary 10, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Comfortable shoe. Light sole for indoor gym sports. Pretty color!"
    Pros: Good traction, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 19 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Excellent

    PostedJanuary 30, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Casa Grande, Arizona
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think the look all comes down to the shoes!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I had never ordered online as I had foot issues that made me go into a regular store. When I recieved these shoes it was like walking in pillows. I have wonderful support and the fit was just perfect.. I have worn New Balance 609's for years and now I have found this shoe to be more comfortable then those. Love the shoe & would do this shoe again & again"
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Durable, Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 20 for Women's 409
    This review is fromWomen's 409.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    Consistently reliable shoes

    PostedJanuary 17, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Good fit and support for activities. Have purchased several pairs and quality consistent."
    Pros: Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>