Customer reviews for Men's MX 506

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Famous Footwear.

Men's MX 506

The 506 by New Balance is a cross training shoe with technical features and stylish design. Wear them to the gym and then wear them while watching the game. They’re an everyday shoe for the active person.

  • Mesh and synthetic upper
  • Padded collar and breathable mesh lace up front br>
  • Padded insole with ABZORB® cushioning system, non-marking traction outsole
  • Overall Rating:
    4.627 / 5
    4.6
     / 
    5
    (67 reviews) 54
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating breakdown 67 reviews
    5 Stars
    46
    4 Stars
    19
    3 Stars
    1
    2 Stars
    0
    1 Star
    1
    65 of 67(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
    Customer reviews for Men's MX 506
    Review 1 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5

    Ok for the price

    PostedJune 12, 2013
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Performance 
    2 / 5
    2 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1/2 Size Too Small
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    Slightly Narrow
    Too wide
    "They were small and narrow. I did return them."
    Pros: Breathable
    No, I do not recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    nice shoe decent price

    PostedMarch 6, 2013
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "good all around shoe for daily use. good support for light workout on various surfaces"
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning
    Cons: could have firmer sole
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Best shoe for an exercising diabetic

    PostedMarch 5, 2013
    Customer avatar
    From: Lawrence, Kansas
    Gender: Male
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise all the time
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I was told by all my Endrocrinologists and Pediatrists that New Balance was the shoe for diabetics like myself. I have always been active but over the 30 years of being type 1 diabetic, my feet were getting blistered and calloused and were in pain causing me back trouble. My feet were not seriously bad off yet but I didn't want them to get worse. I have tried many NB shoes, 308s, 608s, but none were right for serious exercise. Then I tried these 506s. They felt better instantly. I tried them on the basketball court and they felt even better but I still needed a little arch support because of my Plantar-Fasciitis. I got some good insoles from my Pediatrist and put them in. Now I can't stop wearing these shoes. They feel like shoes felt before I was diabetic. Sometimes I even forget I am wearing them and I don't feel like wearing any other shoe. With my constant 12hrs a day of wearing them, they have lasted a year and a half. I could not recommend a better shoe."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Durable, Shock absorbing, Breathable, look good
    Cons: Not Supportive Enough
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great pair of shoes...

    PostedDecember 10, 2012
    Customer avatar
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Love these shoes, I clean for a living and I'm on my feet most of the day. So I need something to support my feet. They hold up really well."
    Pros: Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    New Balance

    PostedDecember 10, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: Cleveland, Ohio
    Gender: Male
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I love these shoes. Anytime there is a BOGO 1/2 price, I buy four pair."
    Pros: Cushioning, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    The only shoes my EEEEE husband can wear.

    PostedDecember 9, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: Cleveland, OH
    Gender: Female
    Age: 35-44
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "These shoes are great. They have non-skid soles, so they are ok for boaters. The mesh allows the shoe to accommodate a wider foot and for feet to not get so hot when working outside in the summer."
    Pros: Lightweight
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    This is an excellent, stable show

    PostedDecember 8, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: Tucson, Az
    Gender: Male
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Great shoes for my morning run, this is my second pair. Highly recommended all around shoe."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Shoes

    PostedNovember 11, 2012
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Great shoes been buying them for 5 years"
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great Trainer

    PostedNovember 1, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: Spring, TX
    Gender: Female
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Gave these as a gift. Unless the recipient was only being nice:-) this shoe is fabulous. The feedback was they are perfect for arch support. I love the style--looks great with all casual wear."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    PostedSeptember 8, 2012
    Customer avatar
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Good all around shoe, no issues"
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    This is a great all around sneaker

    PostedAugust 20, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: NY
    Gender: Male
    Age: 65-74
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "My husband has worn this sneaker for a long time and orders them 2 pair at a time. They are very cimfortable and hold up great."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, good looking
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    ludwing agredo

    PostedAugust 6, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: kearney
    Gender: Male
    Age: 25-34
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "comfortable and soft"
    Pros: Good traction
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    PostedAugust 2, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: Florida
    Gender: Male
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Good quality and fit..arch fittest good, nice ventilation.."
    Pros: Breathable
    Cons: laces to long..
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Nice shoe with neutral colors

    PostedJuly 31, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: Brooklyn NY
    Gender: Female
    Age: 65-74
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Offers good support and nice styling. A comfortable shoe."
    Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Comfortable for walking

    PostedJuly 24, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: Wisconsin
    Gender: Male
    Age: 65-74
    Fitness Needs/Level: Pretty minimal
    Shoe expertise: I don't really think about my shoes
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Really love my new balance shoes for my daily walk"
    Pros: Cushioning, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great shoes!

    PostedJuly 2, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: Springfield, VA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "My husband loves the New Balance MX 506 and, in fact, insists only on this shoe. He goes through these twice a year because that's all he wears when he works out or goes anywhere."
    Pros: Good traction, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Like these shoes

    PostedJune 19, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: St. Louis, MO
    Gender: Male
    Age: 65-74
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "These are the only workout shoes I really like for walking or biking. Glad I found them on your site. Had a hard time finding them at other shoes stores in town. Wider shoes that fits my wider foot well."
    Pros: Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great shoe!

    PostedMay 23, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: 12839
    Gender: Male
    Age: 25-34
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "This is the second pair of these I have bought. It is a great all around show."
    Pros: Cushioning, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 19 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    NICE ALTERNATIVE TO NB609'S.

    PostedApril 30, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: NJ
    Gender: Male
    Age: 35-44
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I'VE BEEN WEARING NB609'S FOR 6 YEARS AND WAS LOOKING FOR A NEW LOOK. I HAVE A WIDE FOOT AND MOST BRANDS DO NOT FIT. THIS WAS THE ONLY OTHER NB SNEAKER THAT WAS COMPARABLE TO THE NB609'S IN BOTH LENGTH AND WIDTH, BUT LIGHTER."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Breathable
    Cons: squeaks on some surfaces
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 20 for Men's MX 506
    This review is fromMen's MX 506.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    Solid shoe

    PostedApril 15, 2012
    Customer avatar
    From: Springfield, MO
    Gender: Male
    Age: 25-34
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1/2 Size Too Big
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "This is my first pair of real running shoes and they have worked out good so far. The sole formed to my foot fast and keeps me comfortable. They are flexible so it's easy to run in them, this was also a plus. Great shoes!"
    Pros: support
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    1 2 3 next>>