Customer reviews for Women's 405

Women's 405

Walk this way in the New Balance 405 walking shoe. It features a leather upper with supportive overlays, logo accents and traction outsole for grip.

  • Leather upper with lace-up front
  • Padded insole, tongue and collar
  • Rubber traction outsole
  • Overall Rating:
    4.54 / 5
    4.5
     / 
    5
    (248 reviews) 205
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating breakdown 248 reviews
    5 Stars
    161
    4 Stars
    67
    3 Stars
    14
    2 Stars
    5
    1 Star
    1
    232 of 248(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
    Customer reviews for Women's 405
    Review 1 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    comfortable shoe

    PostedOctober 10, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Very comfortable shoe, like the style, length and width true to size. Would recommend product to friend."
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 2 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great shoes as usual!

    PostedSeptember 29, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1/2 Size Too Small
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "But, make sure you try it on first. I ordered my usual size and then I have to return it."
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 3 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    this product perfect for the job

    PostedSeptember 23, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: new york
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I work in a physician's office and these shoes are attractive, comfortable and just right for the office."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 4 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Love these shoes

    PostedSeptember 22, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Milwaukee, WI
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1/2 Size Too Big
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I am a distance walker and have tried numerous shoes. The New Balance 405 fits all my needs!! They are comfortable and durable. Love them!"
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 5 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5

    Too Tight with my Orthodics

    PostedSeptember 20, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Franklin, Louisiana
    Gender: Female
    Age: Over 75
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    2 / 5
    2 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1 Size Too Small
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    Slightly Narrow
    Too wide
    "These shoes are too snug at the bottom of the lace up area because I have to wear Orthotics in my shoes. I prefer the Velcro loops. I wore them one time and wish I could send them back. But I suppose that is not possible. I also don't have the strength in my hands to lace up the shoes tight enough so that my heel doesn't slip up and down."
    Pros: Good traction, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Cons: Not Supportive Enough, can't put orthotics in the shoes
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 6 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    I love this shoe

    PostedSeptember 8, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Louisville, KY
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    2 / 5
    2 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "As a registered nurse, I am up on my feet a lot during my 12 hour shifts. These shoes feel great. They are supportive and comfortable. Also I noticed that my feet don't slip on wet floors like other shoes I have worn. I highly recommend these shoes. I did get the wide which I don't usually wear but I'm glad I did. These shoes are a little more rigid than most running shoes so a little extra width feels better, plus I can wear thicker socks. The upper back of the shoe is well padded so it holds my foot in the shoe without my heel slipping. I will probably buy these shoes again."
    Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Cons: plain
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 7 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    I love new balance!

    PostedSeptember 4, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "with my foot issues comfort is hard to find except with New Balance"
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 8 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    New Balance Shoes

    PostedSeptember 1, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I am always happy with these shoes. The fit is consistent."
    Pros: Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 9 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    I'm enjoying these shoes

    PostedAugust 28, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Gender: Female
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Very comfortable for the price. I enjoy walking in these shoes. Comfortable and fit is very nice."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 10 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    PostedAugust 22, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Great shoes. They are great for walking or just everyday and they were great shoes all throughout my pregnancy."
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 11 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Tried and True

    PostedAugust 21, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Sedona, AZ
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise all the time
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I walk several miles a day and have tried many different brands and types of shoes but I keep returning to these because I find them to be the most comfortable and have the best support for my feet."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 12 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    reliable comfort.

    PostedAugust 21, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "As a teacher of middle school my students always keep me on my feet. I have purchased this style of New Balance repeatedly for the past 5 years. The sizing and comfort are reliable. They are my "go to" footwear for work and play."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 13 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Very comfortable!

    PostedAugust 19, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1/2 Size Too Small
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I am on my third pair. They are a great buy!"
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 14 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    Great for People that work on your feet

    PostedAugust 19, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Avon Park, fl
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Fantastic for Nurses, they have great support and your feet feel wonderful after a long day"
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction
    Cons: Not Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 15 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    Great shoe!

    PostedAugust 19, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "This shoe is a true fit and very comfortable for walking and everyday wear."
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 16 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5

    Did not like as well as the 409

    PostedAugust 18, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Commerce, GA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise all the time
    Shoe expertise: I think the look all comes down to the shoes!
    Support 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Performance 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Style 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I like the 409 much better. The 409 has round laces and is better made."
    Cons: old school laces
    No, I do not recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 17 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    PostedAugust 18, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1 Size Too Big
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "comfortable on my feet"
    Pros: Good traction, Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 18 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    New Balance Women's 405

    PostedAugust 18, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Oreland, PA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think the look all comes down to the shoes!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I absolutely love these sneakers. They are light weight and comfortable. I love the way they fit."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 19 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    still like this shoe!

    PostedAugust 15, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Gender: Female
    Age: 25-34
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1/2 Size Too Small
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I've bought this shoe before and really like how much arch support it has and the snug fit. Provides a lot of support only thing is I remember it having bit more heel cushion that is the only area I wish was bit different. Otherwise perfect shoe for any occasion walking shoe."
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 20 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    3 rd pair

    PostedAugust 12, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Oakland nj
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "this is my 3 rd pair . i stick with a good thing"
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>