Customer reviews for Women's 405

Women's 405

Walk this way in the New Balance 405 walking shoe. It features a leather upper with supportive overlays, logo accents and traction outsole for grip.

  • Leather upper with lace-up front
  • Padded insole, tongue and collar
  • Rubber traction outsole
  • Overall Rating:
    4.536 / 5
    4.5
     / 
    5
    (220 reviews) 181
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating breakdown 220 reviews
    5 Stars
    143
    4 Stars
    59
    3 Stars
    12
    2 Stars
    5
    1 Star
    1
    205 of 220(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
    Customer reviews for Women's 405
    Review 1 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Very comfortable to stand and walk in for times

    PostedJuly 26, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Daughter working as CNA and found shoes to be very comfortable and easy on the feet to stand and walk for long periods of time."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 2 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    good supporting comfort

    PostedJuly 24, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: northwestern PA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "ordered these for my mother, who has some difficulty with walking and with diabetic foot pain. this is her second pair. she loves the support and comfort of this shoe. her first pair are in black. I also purchased a pair for myself in the store, and they are a great walking shoe."
    Pros: Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 3 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Perfect walking shoe

    PostedJuly 21, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "for me. I don't walk my dog long distances, but also wear these for shopping, working in the yard and everyday wear. Love the style and they're the most comfortable athletic-type shoe I've worn. I couldn't find them in the store recently so am grateful to Famous Footwear for carrying them. I own seven pairs of athletic shoes and these are the only ones I wear."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 4 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great product

    PostedJuly 13, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Missouri
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I have been buying New Balance shoes for the past few years and have yet to find a style that isn't comfortable. This particular shoe was exactly as advertised. The only thing I could suggest that might make it better is choice of colors as it only came in white. I will continue to buy these shoes because they hold up for walking on your feet a lot and are always comfortable. Great shoe!"
    Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 5 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Love these

    PostedJune 20, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Will buy them again.
    They look great and are very comfortable."
    Pros: Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 6 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    These shoes fit great!

    PostedJune 17, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Quad-Cities, Iowa/Illinois
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "These shoes fit great and have a wide enough toe-box for complete comfort. The insole padding is just about perfect."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning
    Cons: could use a little more arch support
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 7 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    Good shoes

    PostedJune 10, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I'm on my feet for 12 hours at a time. They're comfortable, they have a wide toe box, and I love them! Not super stylish, but that's not what I bought them for."
    Pros: Cushioning, Breathable, wide toe box
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 8 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    So Comfortable!

    PostedJune 9, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Fl
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I LOVE these shoes! No break in time. Just comfortable right off the bat! Im going to stick with these as my ne fav`s!!!"
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 9 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    This is the cookie

    PostedMay 29, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Very stable platform, good suport, finally my feet dont hurt.
    Get a new pair every six months and you"r good to go.
    "
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Cons: none
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 10 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    PERFECT THE FIRST TIME I PUT THEM ON

    PostedMay 19, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Ohio
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: Pretty minimal
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Wanted to start walking again. I picked the perfect shoe. Did not have to break them in. They did not slip or pinch. They are very light and look very attractive. Will definitely buy these again."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 11 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Fantastic Shoes

    PostedMay 15, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Rockford, IL
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "These shoes will come in handy when I start my walking fitness class next month. Every foot doctor should recommend these shoes for both women and men."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 12 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Comfortable

    PostedMay 13, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: WA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I was able to wear the first time for the whole day and was still comfortable."
    Pros: Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 13 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great work shoes.

    PostedMay 13, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Lake havasu
    Gender: Male
    Age: 35-44
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "New Balance has always been our choice for work shoes.for long work days of 12 plus hours.these are the shoes to get"
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 14 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    PostedApril 14, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: lebanon,pa.
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise all the time
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "They are very confortable i wear them to work every day and i love them"
    Pros: Cushioning, Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 15 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Excellent sneakers to walk with.

    PostedApril 11, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: New York, NY
    Gender: Female
    Age: 35-44
    Fitness Needs/Level: Pretty minimal
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "The best purchase I've ever made were these New Balance sneakers."
    Pros: Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 16 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5

    sturdy shoe but maybe too sturdy

    PostedApril 8, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1/2 Size Too Small
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    Slightly Wide
    Too wide
    "I purchased this shoe because it was white. So many sneakers today are neon colored which is ok for running in traffic but not ideal if you want a comfortable everyday shoe that doesn't call attention to your feet.
    Unfortunately the shoe didn't fit. I am a perfect size 9 and this shoe is tight. It also felt heavy on my foot.
    "
    Cons: feels bulky/not flexible
    No, I do not recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 17 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    New Balance

    PostedApril 1, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I can't stop working out even to answer this question
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "These are the only tennis shoes that I will buy there the best!"
    Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 18 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great Product

    PostedMarch 31, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "This is my 7th pair of these shoes that I have bought. They are comfortable and true to size. I walk over 2 miles a day and they are great for walking."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Shock absorbing, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 19 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    1 / 5
    1 / 5

    Too narrow, strangely shaped.

    PostedMarch 3, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    Too Narrow
    Too wide
    "Ordered a wide width. Shoe is too short from top to bottom and pinches all along the outer edge. Sole of the shoe is oddly shaped - the inner part of the toe slants upward so you can't put your toes flat on the ground. It feels like you're going to fall over. Extra-thick back lining cuts into ankle."
    No, I do not recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 20 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    PostedFebruary 24, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I am on my 6th or 7th pair of this style. Of all the NB atheltic shoes I've worn in the past this style has been a proven winner for me. I have flat feet, bunions on both big toes, hammer toes and previous ingrown toenails. These shoes are very comfortable to wear with all my issues. I give it a 5 star, thumbs up!!!"
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>