Customer reviews for Women's 405

Women's 405

Walk this way in the New Balance 405 walking shoe. It features a leather upper with supportive overlays, logo accents and traction outsole for grip.

  • Leather upper with lace-up front
  • Padded insole, tongue and collar
  • Rubber traction outsole
  • Overall Rating:
    4.54 / 5
    4.5
     / 
    5
    (237 reviews) 196
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating breakdown 237 reviews
    5 Stars
    154
    4 Stars
    64
    3 Stars
    13
    2 Stars
    5
    1 Star
    1
    221 of 237(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
    Customer reviews for Women's 405
    Review 1 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    PostedAugust 22, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Great shoes. They are great for walking or just everyday and they were great shoes all throughout my pregnancy."
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 2 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Tried and True

    PostedAugust 21, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Sedona, AZ
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise all the time
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I walk several miles a day and have tried many different brands and types of shoes but I keep returning to these because I find them to be the most comfortable and have the best support for my feet."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 3 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    reliable comfort.

    PostedAugust 21, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "As a teacher of middle school my students always keep me on my feet. I have purchased this style of New Balance repeatedly for the past 5 years. The sizing and comfort are reliable. They are my "go to" footwear for work and play."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 4 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Very comfortable!

    PostedAugust 19, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1/2 Size Too Small
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I am on my third pair. They are a great buy!"
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 5 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    Great for People that work on your feet

    PostedAugust 19, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Avon Park, fl
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Fantastic for Nurses, they have great support and your feet feel wonderful after a long day"
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction
    Cons: Not Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 6 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    Great shoe!

    PostedAugust 19, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "This shoe is a true fit and very comfortable for walking and everyday wear."
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 7 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5

    Did not like as well as the 409

    PostedAugust 18, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Commerce, GA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise all the time
    Shoe expertise: I think the look all comes down to the shoes!
    Support 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Performance 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Style 
    3 / 5
    3 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I like the 409 much better. The 409 has round laces and is better made."
    Cons: old school laces
    No, I do not recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 8 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    PostedAugust 18, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1 Size Too Big
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "comfortable on my feet"
    Pros: Good traction, Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 9 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    New Balance Women's 405

    PostedAugust 18, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Oreland, PA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think the look all comes down to the shoes!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I absolutely love these sneakers. They are light weight and comfortable. I love the way they fit."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 10 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    still like this shoe!

    PostedAugust 15, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Gender: Female
    Age: 25-34
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1/2 Size Too Small
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I've bought this shoe before and really like how much arch support it has and the snug fit. Provides a lot of support only thing is I remember it having bit more heel cushion that is the only area I wish was bit different. Otherwise perfect shoe for any occasion walking shoe."
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 11 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    3 rd pair

    PostedAugust 12, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Oakland nj
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "this is my 3 rd pair . i stick with a good thing"
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 12 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    PostedAugust 7, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Johnstown, PA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I love the buy one get 1/2 sale famous footwear has and how promptly you received the items that your have ordered. I have no complaints about the products or service. Job well dne"
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 13 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great leather walking shoes!

    PostedAugust 6, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Greensboro, Georgia
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Its hard to find all leather walking shoes. This style is very nice, not rugged looking & still gives good support. Will be using them to play golf."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 14 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great shoes!

    PostedAugust 5, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: PA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I always buy New Balance. Love their styles, size is always right."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 15 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    PostedAugust 4, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Pittsburgh, Pa
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: Pretty minimal
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    Slightly Narrow
    Too wide
    "Great for someone who is on there feet all day !"
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 16 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Very comfortable to stand and walk in for times

    PostedJuly 26, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Daughter working as CNA and found shoes to be very comfortable and easy on the feet to stand and walk for long periods of time."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 17 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    good supporting comfort

    PostedJuly 24, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: northwestern PA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "ordered these for my mother, who has some difficulty with walking and with diabetic foot pain. this is her second pair. she loves the support and comfort of this shoe. her first pair are in black. I also purchased a pair for myself in the store, and they are a great walking shoe."
    Pros: Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 18 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Perfect walking shoe

    PostedJuly 21, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "for me. I don't walk my dog long distances, but also wear these for shopping, working in the yard and everyday wear. Love the style and they're the most comfortable athletic-type shoe I've worn. I couldn't find them in the store recently so am grateful to Famous Footwear for carrying them. I own seven pairs of athletic shoes and these are the only ones I wear."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 19 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great product

    PostedJuly 13, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Missouri
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I have been buying New Balance shoes for the past few years and have yet to find a style that isn't comfortable. This particular shoe was exactly as advertised. The only thing I could suggest that might make it better is choice of colors as it only came in white. I will continue to buy these shoes because they hold up for walking on your feet a lot and are always comfortable. Great shoe!"
    Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    Review 20 for Women's 405
    This review is fromWomen's 405.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Love these

    PostedJune 20, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Will buy them again.
    They look great and are very comfortable."
    Pros: Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
    1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>