Customer reviews for Men's 505

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Famous Footwear.

Men's 505

There’s a lot to say about a shoe that’s designed for both performance and style. The New Balance 505 running shoe is built to cushion and support, and the black and gray upper will rock your look.

  • Synthetic and cooling mesh upper with lace-up front
  • Abzorb® cushioning in the heel absorbs shocks
  • Long-wearing, non-marking sole
  • Overall Rating:
    4.696 / 5
    4.7
     / 
    5
    (207 reviews) 175
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating breakdown 207 reviews
    5 Stars
    155
    4 Stars
    44
    3 Stars
    6
    2 Stars
    1
    1 Star
    1
    198 of 207(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
    Customer reviews for Men's 505
    Review 1 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    great shoe

    PostedJuly 27, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Northfield,MA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 25-34
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Shoe is true to size and very durable.This is the 2nd pair of these we bought."
    Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    New Balance are truly the best!!!

    PostedJuly 22, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Rockledge, FL
    Gender: Female
    Age: 25-34
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I don't really think about my shoes
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "These shoes are very comfortable and sporty looking."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable, sporty looking
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great shoes

    PostedJuly 21, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Belgrade, MT
    Gender: Male
    Age: 55-64
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "This is the second pair of this style i have purchased. Always happy with the fit and comfort."
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Love these shoes!

    PostedJuly 11, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Dallas, Texas
    Gender: Male
    Age: 35-44
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "This is my 4 & 5th pair of these shoes. From day one they feel like comfortable shoes that are already broken in. They last a very long time and are made in the USA."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Durable, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    PostedJuly 9, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Las Vegas
    Gender: Male
    Age: 65-74
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise all the time
    Shoe expertise: I think the look all comes down to the shoes!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "This is a shoe I have been buying for a few years. I like the way it fits and the comfort it has. I also like the service and the fact that I can pick a variety of styles that I can't get in the stores. Especially since I wear a size 14."
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning, Durable, Breathable, Comfortable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great shoes!

    PostedJuly 3, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I've been buying and wearing these New Balances for 6 years now. It was awesome to find them available online and I'll be buying more in the future!"
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Very comfortable shoes

    PostedJune 26, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Great arch support and love the extra wide width, would buy this style again."
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Comfortable, stylish shoe w/support

    PostedJune 22, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Portland, Oregon
    Gender: Female
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Bought for my son. His words "good shoe" but I liked the way they looked & offered support & were comfortable for his 13 shoe size and being on sale - nice bonus."
    Pros: Good traction, Cushioning, Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great shoes

    PostedJune 16, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Il
    Gender: Male
    Age: 45-54
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I have worn this style nb for many years. Hard to find a style I like better except maybe the 510"
    Pros: Cushioning, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    this product is good for walking

    PostedMay 26, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1/2 Size Too Big
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I bought this pair and a pair of Nike dart 10, gave this pair to my daughter because I preferred the fit of the nikes more."
    Cons: Not Supportive Enough
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    PostedMay 20, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Gender: Male
    Age: 45-54
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise all the time
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "You always have my size and the width I need for my sneakers and a great price online and convenient. It is very hard to find the size and with I need at the stores"
    Pros: Lightweight
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Exactly as presented!

    PostedMay 19, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Gender: Male
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "I was looking for another pair of NB 505's and many stores simply do not carry much in Wides. I saw these on FF and ordered...I was impressed with speed and accuracy of order. FF did exactly what I wanted them to do...no more and certainly no less! I will continue to FF first for my next pair of any type of shoes in Wide sizes."
    Pros: Lightweight
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    solid shoe

    PostedMay 15, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    Slightly Narrow
    Too wide
    "Good overall shoe. On feet all day and get new shoes every 4 to 6 months. NB shoes seem to last better and have better soles. This is no exception. A bit narrow for my feet but break in quickly. Tongue good be wider so does not fold over when putting on, but no big deal really. Will stick with NB - not expensive and good quality."
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Cushioning, Durable, Breathable
    Cons: small tongue
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5

    Repeat purchase for my family- made in USA

    PostedMay 14, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Clermont, FL
    Gender: Female
    Age: 35-44
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "My husband and son both wear these- they hold up well through short hikes, camping and other less than clean outdoor activities as well as general weekend wear.
    We have purchased these 3 times for my husband and 2 times for my son so far...if I'm not mistaken this is the style made in the US according to the undercover boss tv show, so we switched "numbers" from my husbands old standard, in spite of both preferring blue shoes to black.
    "
    Pros: Lightweight, Good traction, Durable, made in usa
    Cons: cushion could improve a bit
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great over all shoe.

    PostedMay 13, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Phoenix, AZ
    Gender: Female
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Bought these for my picky husband. He loves them. Very comfortable."
    Pros: Durable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Look Great

    PostedApril 17, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Omaha, NE
    Gender: Male
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise once in a while
    Shoe expertise: I'm thinking about shoes right now!
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Very comfortable, and I'm on my feet all day. Preparing to buy a second.pair right now"
    Pros: Lightweight, Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Good quality shoe

    PostedApril 9, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Pgh, PA
    Gender: Male
    Age: Under 18
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes when my old ones are falling apart
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "This is the only shoe I will wear. Just love it!"
    Pros: Good traction
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Good for wide foot

    PostedMarch 21, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: Palmdale, CA
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: I exercise regularly
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    4 / 5
    4 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "My husband has a small, but wide foot with a high arch. It takes a 5 or 6 E to fit around his foot, yet, his shoes are only 7.5 or 8. This one worked well. They look nice with the black and white, he can wear them to work, comfortable, Very pleased with them."
    Pros: Cushioning, Shock absorbing, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 19 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Great shoes

    PostedMarch 20, 2014
    Customer avatar
    Gender: Female
    Age: 55-64
    Fitness Needs/Level: Pretty minimal
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    True to Size
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Great shoes. Good support when he stands all day at work. Roomy."
    Pros: Cushioning
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 20 for Men's 505
    This review is fromMen's 505.
    Overall Rating 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5

    Comfortable

    PostedMarch 14, 2014
    Customer avatar
    From: CA
    Gender: Female
    Shoe expertise: I think about shoes every season
    Support 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Performance 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Style 
    5 / 5
    5 / 5
    Product Experience:
    Size Too Small
    1/2 Size Too Small
    Size Too Big
    Too narrow
    True to Width
    Too wide
    "Love these!"
    Pros: Cushioning, Breathable
    Yes, I recommend this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>